Congressman Adam Smith (D-Wash.) today sent a bipartisan letter to Speaker Hastert and Minority Leader Gephardt endorsing the suggestion that September 11, 2002 should be the target date for enacting legislation to establish a cabinet level homeland security department.

Representatives Jane Harman (D-Calif.), William "Mac" Thornberry (R-Texas), Ellen Tauscher (D-Calif.), Jim Gibbons (R-NV), Diane Watson (D-Calif.), Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.), Peter Visclosky (D-Ind.), Lane Evans (D-Ill.), Joe Barton (R-Texas), Ralph Hall (D-Texas), Ron Kind (D-Wisc.), John Baldacci (D-Maine), Grace Napolitano (D-Calif.), Michael Castle (R-Del.), Cal Dooley (D-Calif), Jim McGovern (D-Mass.), Harold Ford (D-Tenn.) and Max Sandlin (D-Texas) also signed the letter, saying, "We strongly endorse the suggestion that we set 9-11-02 as the target date for completing Congressional action to fine tune and enact into law the President's Department of Homeland Security proposal."

Click here for the full text of the letter: