Secretary of the Navy Ray Maybus announced today that in honor of the contributions and support Washington state has given the military, one of the next five Virginia-class attack submarines will be named the USS Washington (SSN 787). The submarine will be the third ship to bear the state’s name.

The other four Virginia-class attack submarines will be named the USS Illinois (SSN 786), USS Colorado (SSN 788), USS Indiana (SSN 786) and USS South Dakota (SSN 790). The five states have not had a ship named for them in 49 years or longer.

“This is an exceptional way to recognize the men and women in Washington state who serve our country and to acknowledge the communities surrounding the base that support them in various ways,” said Congressman Smith. “I appreciate that the Navy is honoring us in this way.”

“Each of these five states serve as home to military bases that support our national defense and provide men and women that volunteer to serve their country,” said Secretary Mabus.  “I look forward to these submarines joining the fleet and representing these great states around the world.”  

These next-generation attack submarines will provide the Navy with the capabilities required to maintain the nation's undersea supremacy well into the 21st century. They will have enhanced stealth, sophisticated surveillance capabilities and special warfare enhancements that will enable them to meet the Navy's multi-mission requirements.

For more information about the Virginia-class attack submarine, visit